Simplicity of Summer

I am thankful everyday to be alive and able to enjoy my family, friends, and the goodness of nature that God has designed for me to enjoy! This summer has been a wonderful time of healing, rest, and pleasure.

It’s been about nine months since our car accident and we have truly come a long way since then. In the past nine months we have healed from our broken bones, mended from our emotional trauma (although still mending), and given a new look on life. I am thankful for how far God has brought us and I can see that we have a wonderful future ahead of us. We have nothing to fear other than fear itself, and because of that I consider myself to be free. Although there are still moments where the fear creeps in, but I know God has protected us and has a purpose and a plan for our lives.
The past nine months have become more restful as time passes. In April we moved into our first home, closer to the mountains. Everyday I wake up to rabbits in my front yard, the occasional deer resting under our trees. It’s so peaceful. I find myself more rested and feeling alive again. I often take Malia on walks in the neighborhood, and recently have begun hiking and biking again. I feel like my life has been restored and I am doing the things I love to do again.
The simple pleasures in life are becoming more noticeably abundant. This past weekend Chris, Malia, and I took a bike ride on the Santa Fe Trail. It was our first ride together as a family, and it was so enjoyable to be active together! Another activity I find pleasurable is taking pictures. I recently got a new camera which keeps me active in taking pictures. Although I’m still figuring out all it’s functions, I love being able to capture life as I see it.

This picture is Malia (R) with her friends, Sophia (L), and Amalia (C). We went to the girls house when they had a lemonade and cookie stand, and Malia enjoyed playing and being fed popsicles on a rather hot day. We all had a wonderful time and I definitely enjoyed playing with the new camera!
This summer has been a blessings to us. God is good. We have loved getting more settled into our new home, exploring our surroundings, and enjoying the simplicity of summer.
One thought on “Simplicity of Summer

Leave a Reply

