Finding Joy In All Circumstances

Joy is a treasure that we all desire. It comes in many different shapes and forms. Some days we find it easily and other days it’s disguised in ways that are unrecognizable to us.  … and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure.” ~ Proverbs 2:4
2014-09-27 14.55.10-2

Joy will be found.

It’s easy to get caught up in every day life activities. Every school day, I wake up, make sure my kids have had their breakfast, my son has a clean diaper, and my daughter is prepared for school. Then the usual routines around naps, cleaning, and running errands until it’s time to pick my daughter up from school again. Life is full of routines that can become mundane if we let it.

When I’m not with my family, I work as a hospice chaplain. I work on-call, one night a week and one weekend a month. I chose to work these hours so I can be with my kids in the day, but working at night takes a toll on my body. Working in hospice is also draining emotionally if I don’t search for glimpses of beauty in darkness. However, death is not always dark, I have seen joy in some peoples final hours. But joy is something that we have to look for. We have to train ourselves to see goodness and light in all places, no matter what our circumstances.

Training ourselves to find joy in not always easy. Like anything we have ever trained for, somedays are easier and other days are harder. I constantly have to remind myself to laugh in my day, to smile, and do things that fill me up. In a recent post I wrote, Learning About Gratitude, I mentioned a new practice of wearing gratitude bracelets as a physical reminder of looking for things of gratitude in my day. My goal was to move all seven bracelets from one wrist to the other. This has been a good practice for me because I find that when I look for things that I’m grateful for, finding joy in my daily life has been much easier.

I believe God wants us to find joy. To find things in life that make us smile and laugh, to see light in darkness, and to dance in the rain. Life is short and full of trails, but it doesn’t have to be dull and depressing. Search for that treasure of joy, so that even when it comes in disguise, you will recognize it.

Leave a Reply

