It’s The Little Things

Over the past week, I have been trying to take care of the little things that build up around my house. Cleaning up the clutter pockets here and there, going through my kids clothes that they’ve outgrown, and trying to make my house feel more comfortable. I realize this is a daunting task at times, and the list of things feels never ending. Each day I make a list that I hope to accomplish and if I don’t get it done for the day, I move it to the next day.

Looking at my list for today, I realized that three of my items are things to do just for myself. It’s not cleaning or taking care of kids stuff, it’s simply taking care of me. I’m grateful that this week I was able to accomplish a lot of my cleaning goals, and that today I can relax.

I have to admit, I stayed in my pajamas until noon today and watched cartoons with my son, and I’m not ashamed of it. I enjoyed snuggling on the sofa with him without feeling like I needed to get a move on my day.

I like to write myself a list of goals to accomplish each day. It occurred to me looking at my list for today, that I want to add more things to my list that take care of myself. Life is not always about making sure everyone else is taken care of, it is about taking care of yourself. Finding the little things in life that bring you joy and adding it to your day. It’s about finding balance. It’s okay if the dishes sit in the sink, or there is a load of laundry waiting to be washed. Those things will get done. They won’t sit there forever.

I’m grateful to see a list that has things for myself written on it. Things that feed my soul, so that I can continue pressing forward for family when they need me. I’m grateful that today has felt like a lazy saturday, and I love it.

Leave a Reply

