Mourning Praise

This morning in the car I heard song on the radio that always makes me think of my friend Praise. It’s been four years since her sudden death, and I miss her. She was my dreaming friend. We shared our dreams and hopes with one another, and she always inspired me to live life with love, excitement, and adventure.

Praise made the world a better place, and she touched people’s hearts with her kindness and changed lives. She had a heart for the street children in the Philippines, and she saw beauty in some very poverty stricken places of the world. She inspired young girls to look deep inside their lives and see how God made them each unique and beautiful. She allowed God to guide her and open her eyes to see the world through His lens.

Last night was our first freeze. It started with sleeting rain, and this morning there was a small dusting of snow on the ground. The first freeze often causes things to look a little bleak, a little cold, and lifeless. Yet there is a newness that comes with it. The air feels a little crisper, and the sun makes things sparkle as it reflects off all the little snowflakes. Praise always lit up a room with her presence, and that light radiated into others.

Praise’s life was short lived, but I trust that God’s plan for her life was fulfilled. Praise taught me so much in life, and I still think about her even in death. I am reminded to  approach life facing the sun, because even when life feels like the dead winter, the sun shines brightly before us, warms us, and gives light to the path before us. God calls each of us to walk a different path in life. Praise’s path was too short, but she lived a good life, always being true to who she is and who God created her to be.

When Praise died, my husband said it well when he said, “Lord we reluctantly give you Praise.” I miss my friend, but I trust that one day we will dream together again in the presence of our Lord.

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day – and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.” ~ 2 Timothy 4:7-8,

Leave a Reply

