A Stranger In Their World

2014-10-30 11.40.20Years ago, God created a special place in my heart for Russia and for orphans. This desire has changed me and the way I look at life and love. Sometimes I think God programed me differently… and I’m sure he did. Growing up, adoption was something I knew I wanted to do some day. I wanted to share what love I had and could give with children who were missing that. I wanted to somehow make a difference in a child’s life and give them opportunities they may otherwise not have. Adoption is still on my heart, and maybe God will open the door for my family to adopt, but for now, I hope that I can make a difference in the life of an orphan even if it’s not through the adoption process.

While I was in Kostroma, one of my prayers was that my time there would make a difference. I know that relationships take time and people need time to open up, and to get to know one another. Sometimes these relationships can begin to grow instantly, and some take longer to develop. I met a lot of students at the ministry center. At first I was overwhelmed and I wanted that instant connection with a student. But the instant connections didn’t happen. I was a stranger who entered into their world, and they had to be the ones to let me in. This was not a situation I could forge my way into, and I knew it would take time for all of us to become comfortable.

We don’t always get the privilege of seeing the effect we have on someones life, but when we do, it’s a gift. I don’t know what difference I made in the lives of the students that I met, but I hope that my presence made some difference. I hope that they could see that they are lovable, and they have not been forgotten. I hope that the relationships I was able to form, will continue to grow with time, and that God will bring me back to Russia. Facebook has it’s ups and downs in my book, but I am grateful for it because I have been able to be in touch with some of students I met regularly because of it. Through writing back and forth, I have gotten to know the students even more than when we were face to face. I am grateful that I have seen growth in our relationships.

I desire to make a difference in the world, and I pray that through each person I meet, my presence will make even the smallest change for the good of someone. I don’t know what God has in store for me with Russia, but I know deep in my heart that this was just the beginning of something greater that He is unfolding.

Leave a Reply

