Hello Blogging World

crest_square-1902dc8c2829c4d58f4cd667a59f9259This is National Blog Posting Month, and I’ve decided to take the challenge to write daily on my blog. I’ve also signed up for The Daily Post Blogging 101 class to help get my creativity flowing. I love challenges, because it motivates me to accomplish the goal set before me, so I’m excited to see what comes from this months writings.

I love to write. I’ve always loved writing, and one of my favorite classes I took in high school was creative writing. Writing is one way I can express my thoughts and feelings. There are so many things going on in my head, that I find relaxation in the process of writing. Writing slows me down to think about what I want to say, and how I want to say it. Now there are times that I still ramble on with my thoughts even in writing, but the process of writing refreshes my soul and gives me the much needed energy to go through my daily business. Taking the time to write, is more for me than anyone else, although I love to inspire others as well.

Years ago I began blogging, but not until recently have I blogged regularly. I decided to blog rather than keep a private journal of my thoughts because I wanted to share my thoughts with others. I did say that taking the time to write is mostly for myself, but in truth if my words can inspire even just one person to make the most of their life, then I write for that person as well.

I have committed to posting on certain topics each day, and then I have other posts that I write just because. Things you can find on my blog include:

Matryoshka Monday – My thoughts and reflections on my experience in Russia.

Tasty Tuesday – I love food. Most people who know me, know that I am a lover of food. I like to share about my food experiments and tasty things.

Worshipful Wednesdays – I am an ordained minister in the Presbyterian Church and my ministry is with hospice care. I like to share devotions I’ve been reading, and spiritual thoughts.

Thankful Thursday – I post on gratitude. This is a way to keep me mindful of the things in life I am grateful for.

Family Friday – I love my family. They inspire me to be a better person every day. They teach me so much about life and love, and writing about our lives in one way I express that love.

Saturday and Sundays are my free post days. I have given myself permission to use these days as days of rest or days to write – really it’s whatever I’m inspired by on these days. Other things you will find on my blog are Weekly Writing Challenges, and Daily Prompt writings. These are fun ways for me to grow as a writer, and I enjoy the challenge they present.

I hope that I will connect with other writers through the blogging experience that will inspire me and my writing. I hope to connect with people who will challenge me to not be afraid to write, and people who will teach me as I grow in my own skills.

I will know that my blog is successful, if I continue to write because this is my quiet place where I take time out of my day for myself. I admit, I love when people comment on my writing because it helps me feel like I have inspired someone in someway. But for me success is not measured in the number of followers or likes I have on this blog, it measured in my own ability and commitment to making time for me, and my love for writing.

Leave a Reply

