The Secret of Being Content

“I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” Philippians 4:12

These are the words of the Apostle Paul, and while I wish I could claim these words from my mouth, I cannot. I try to utter contentment in all situations, but I admit, I am not.

Today was one of those days that I wish I had a few more hours, and at least one of those hours all to myself in a quiet place. I strive to make quiet time each day, but there are many days that I desire that silence. It’s difficult to get silence with two children in the house, two dogs, and a crazy cat, and not to mention the noise in my head when I’m trying to plan for a ministry trip.

I wish I was a little more content in life, although really I cannot complain. I am well fed, I have plenty to get by, and I have a lot of good things going in my life. Now, I don’t want to blame society for my discontentment, but I think we definitely live in a culture that tells us to want more. It’s not just telling us to want more, but telling us we need more.

I wonder, is it possible to truly be content in any and every situation? I guess I have seen glimpses of this contentment in my life, but I wonder how amazing it would feel to truly let go of any control and let God teach me that secret to contentment.

I believe God desires us to be content in life, and not just content, but desires us to find joy in our circumstances. If I put my trust in God and really bask in His presence maybe I would spend less time worrying about my situation, and more time feeling content.

My kids are truly happy kids. They are not worriers, they don’t think about what we have and what we don’t have. They are are content with what they have… that is until they realize there is something they want and they don’t have it. In some ways, we are all like children. We are content, until we realize what we don’t have, and then we want it. What if more people realized we can find joy and contentment in God? What if we all set our worries aside, even just for a day, to bask in God’s presence, and to feel pure joy and contentment because everything we could ever need, we find in him.

That would be a true glimpse of beauty.

Leave a Reply

