Life Is Too Short

Life is too short to let our dreams slide by.

We all have dreams in life, some of them seem more attainable than others. Regardless of what our dreams our, life is too short to not act on those dreams. We all have the ability to change the world if we choose to do so. Maybe our impact to make a difference could come in the some small thing we do from our home, or maybe we make a difference by building up an organization that started from a little dream. I have always said that I never want to look back on my life and say, “I wish I would have just tried.” I want to live my life in a way that I look back and say, “wow, I did that.”

George Steiner in the founder of the organization Orphan’s Tree. Recently he wrote a blog post 20 Years of Ministry to Russian Orphans. His writing shares his vision for beginning a ministry of outreach to Russian Orphans, and how it has developed over the past two decades.

George has been an inspiration to me, along with the many other members of the Orphan’s Tree staff, who have acted on a vision to make a difference in the lives of orphans. They advocate on behalf of kids who do not have a voice, and they have become a voice for the voiceless, bringing awareness to Russian Orphan ministry.

When I was in Russia, I was in awe by the staff at the Kostroma Ministry Center, and the love they pour into their ministry day in and out with the students. They work to make a difference in these students lives, and they do it because of a love that drives each of them.

For me, working with Russian Orphans began as a dream that I had over ten years ago. I may not be a founder of an organization reaching out to Russian Orphans, but because of my dream I have become an advocate in my own way. I pray that I will return to Russia where I can make more of an impact for the staff and students that I met, but in my time at home, I continue to write about my experience in Russia and share it with others. My hope is that through sharing my experience I too will raise an awareness of the need for ministry to Russian Orphans.

Life is too short to let our dreams slide by. No matter how big our dream, we have the ability to make even the tiniest difference.

4 thoughts on “Life Is Too Short

Leave a Reply

