Thanksgiving

I love Thanksgiving because it’s a relaxing time to be with family. It’s a day we spend cooking and hanging out in our pajamas until we feel like getting dressed. We sit around the house, play games, and watch TV. It’s simply a relaxing day, with no expectations.

My kids are old enough now that they can express the things they are thankful for. I enjoy sitting around the dinner table and talking about the things we are thankful for. This activity is not limited to Thanksgiving day, but it’s fun to share our thanks. This year my two year old son said, he is thankful for the animals. My five year old daughter was thankful for God in our hearts, my husband was thankful for the health of our children, and I too am thankful for family and good health.

I’m thankful that God has given me a family that I enjoy spending time with. We are not always the most pleasant people to be around, but then who is? We cannot chose our family, but we are given them as a gift. This year my parents were able to spend the holiday with us which was such a blessing. The kids were super happy to see Grandma and Grandpa, and I think they haven’t stopped giggling since they’ve been here.

It’s been a full and exciting house this weekend. I know these are memories we will hold on to. Things will change as we all get older, but hopefully we will hold on to our traditions of remembering and sharing the things we are thankful for.

 

Leave a Reply

