Brussels Sprouts with Cranberries

IMG_6992.JPGDuring the holidays, I love exploring new dishes to cook for dinner. This Thanksgiving I made Pan Seared Brussels Sprouts with Cranberries. If you love brussels sprouts, this is an excellent dish, and quite flavorful. I made some modifications to the recipe, and when I make it again I will probably make a few more modifications.

The recipe calls for cooking the brussels sprouts and the cranberries together. This caused the brussels sprouts to turn red, rather than hold a nice green color. This isn’t a big deal, but I think the dish would have been more colorful if the cranberries and brussels sprouts were cooked separately and then mixed together. The next modification I made was to replace gorgonzola cheese with goats cheese. I did this simply because I cannot eat gorgonzola. I think gorgonzola would have enhanced the flavors, but for people who cannot have cow’s milk products, goats cheese was a good alternative.

Overall the dish turned out very flavorful. I love the tartness of the cranberries with the brussels sprouts, and the pecans gave it a good crunch texture. The brussels sprouts needed to cook a bit longer than what the recipe calls for. I think in the future I will probably roast my brussels sprouts and then add everything together. This recipe was a win in my book, I think I might make it again at Christmas!

Tell me what recipes you like to eat at holiday dinners. Is there something you make every year? A family recipe passed down generations? What flavors ignite your holiday senses?

Leave a Reply

