Welcome 2015!

Happy New Year! It’s hard to believe another year has past in what seems like the blink of an eye. The past few weeks my blogging has tapered off as I’ve tried to simply get a handle on the year coming to an end. The holidays always feel like a busy time, and while I love them, I’m always happy when they pass.

I’m thankful for a fresh start to this new year. I have had many friends tell me they are looking forward to 2015 because 2014 was a tough one. I’m sure many of us feel that way when we have financial hardships, family illnesses, job difficulties, you name it. It’s always nice to have a fresh start. I’m looking forward to this year and seeing what God has to unfold for me.

This past year was filled with a lot of good things, weddings, birthdays, Malia starting kindergarten, traveling to Russia, and many other things. We were blessed that we had a lot of wonderful things happen in our lives. I always say, “it could be worse,” and I’m happy it wasn’t. Of course I think I had my fair share of hardships, but we survived.

When I was in Russia last year, I taught a seminar that was titled “Surviving to Thriving.” Learning how to thrive in God’s plan for us and not just survive. That is my wish for 2015, I want all of us to feel like we are thriving in life. Thriving in whatever plan God has for each of us. It’s easy to feel like we survive from one moment to another, but it’s more challenging to be aware of how we thrive in each moment.

One day into 2015, and I already have a pretty full calendar. I am moderator of my Presbytery this year, continuing to volunteer as a Parish Associate at my church, balancing my night life as a chaplain, my full time job as mom, along with the many other hats I wear. I pray that I can take each day as it comes, and learn myself how to thrive rather than survive the new year.

I’m also hopeful that this year will bring some good changes. Changes that I need to see happen personally, and for my family. Changes that will help to shape our future, and help give us direction. Jeremiah 29:11 says, “For I know that plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” I trust the Lord has good plans for me, and I hope and pray that whatever His plans for me in the new year, my eyes will be open to seeing those situations as part of the Lord’s bigger plan.

Leave a Reply

