30 Days Unplugged

200245824-001
Plug and electrical outlet, (Close-up)

Wow it’s been a while since I sat in front of this computer to actually write a post for my blog. My apologies for being absent. Life has it’s ups and downs, and I feel like I was in a season that side tracked me from writing, but now I’m back.

Over the past month, I have been slowing putting down my electronics… I deleted my games, and I’ve started to leave my phone in one room rather than carry it on me when I’m home. I began this so that I could be more present with my family. I decided no more checking out, but that I need to be more engaged with those I love. I have felt a freedom from the urgency that carrying my phone creates.

Last week I had a discussion with a friend about domestic art. We talked about the ways electronics have changed the way we do things and how so often they distract people from being fully present with another person. When she talked about domestic art, she shared that now days most people use Swiffer’s around their house and not brooms, and they buy their body creams, lip balms, and soaps at the store because it’s more convenient. We forget the art that goes into making a broom, or other household supplies.

This got me thinking about what would it look like to slow down. With electronics in our hands, we have created a culture of instant gratification. Don’t get me wrong… I love the advances in technology we have, and I too like instant gratification, I’m truly not a patient person, but I wonder if I have become a slave to my phone.

I enjoy social media, and I love to check in with people, but in some ways I long for the days when facebook was nonexistent, phones were attached to our walls, televisions programs shut down after a certain hour, and more time was spend outdoors.

I am raising my children in a world of instant gratification and it scares me. Now we can binge watch on Netflix, and skip commercials. I remember the excitement of watching my favorite TV show every week because it gave me something to look forward to, and it exercised my patience.

Over the next 30 days, I have decided to begin to unplug so that I can be more present with my family, and also more present with God. Honestly I’m a bit scared to do this because I have become so use to that instant gratification, and not having to wait. I’m still working out the details but I plan to use my phone as a phone with the exception of text. When I’m at home I will leave it in one room of the house… I’ll pretend it is attached to my wall. Then when I’m in the room with it I can respond to what I need to, and no more making phone calls from my car. I plan to limit my email, and social media accounts to only check it on my computer at designated times, and hopefully through this process of unplugging I will make space in my life for the things that matter most to me.

Leave a Reply

