Day 3 Unplugged

I woke up this morning feeling numb and embarrassed. Last night while driving back from my friend’s moms home there was an incident on the highway that triggered me to have a full blown panic attack. It’s been almost 7 years since the anniversary of our car accident and being diagnosed with acute Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and at least 6 years since I have had any triggers cause a panic attack in me.

So this morning I woke up and drowned myself in the internet with my phone. I opened up Facebook, checked my email, and googled my therapist that I did Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR) therapy with. It’s time for a “tune up” as she called it. She did tell me that triggers could last my entire life and when something like that comes up it just means it time for a “tune up.” My experience last night was terrible, and all the memories of the car accident flashed in front of me. I did practice some of the exercises to help reorient myself, but it was not easy.

So I was glad to have a distraction this morning.

Leave a Reply

