My Beach


Everyone has a safe place. A place where we feel comfortable, relaxed, and at peace. A place where the stress of our lives cannot penetrate. My place is the beach. Although living in Colorado it’s a little hard to get to the beach. 

After our car accident, my husband came to my first therapy session. It was there that he learned about my safe place. My safe place usually isn’t something that comes up in conversations, so I had never really shared about it with Chris. 

That night, Chris came home after his soccer game and placed a towel at my feet and a large rectangular tub. I didn’t know what he was doing and then he came back with 100 lbs. of sand and created my own beach. 

The journey of healing is a difficult one, but I’m grateful for my husband who walks with me, supports me, and creates for me a place I can sink my feet into the sand, close my eyes and place myself at my beach. 

Leave a Reply

